Can God Make a Rock So Big He Can’t Lift it?

As I was preaching at the SEC Championship a few weeks ago, a young couple walked up with a question.  You may have heard the question before but the young man asked me the following:  “Can God make a rock so big He can’t pick it up?”

The question is really a ridiculous question, as I tried to tell the young man the question he should be concerned with was, “Where will you spend eternity?”  He argued; since God could make a rock as big as He wanted to but that He was also all powerful and could lift any rock, He couldn’t exist.

Of course God can make a rock as big as He likes.  On the other hand, there is not a rock so big He cannot lift it.  So the answer to the young man’s question is yes and no, sort of.  The problem with the question is that it is asked based on a human perspective and on the natural laws of physics.  What wasn’t taken into consideration is that God exists outside of our natural world.  Attempting to fit God in the box of human perception and understanding is a recipe for disaster.  That’s not to say we can’t know God and understand what He has revealed to us about Himself, but we have to keep in mind that we are only finite humans with limited understanding.

After explaining to the young couple about sin and the judgment of God, the young lady stated something about God being unfair or something along that line of thinking.  At that point I began a conversation with just her as Bobby began to talk with the young man.  She wasn’t an atheist but more of an agnostic and she had a lot of sincere questions.   The one that stands out is about the biblical order of the family.  She didn’t like the idea of a woman being under the rule of a man.  She saw it as a form of slavery.  I was able to explain to her that God had designed men and women for specific roles and that the wife was not the slave or property of the husband.  We were making some headway but she still didn’t believe me.  Suddenly I felt compelled to share with her from Proverbs 31.  You know, the Proverbs 31 woman.

I remembered a friend had given me a couple Gideon Bibles so I pulled one out of my backpack.  I opened it up and read the latter half of Proverbs 31 to her as she followed along.  After I got finished I said, ” does that sound like a woman who is beat down by a man?”  She smiled and said , “no”.  We talked for a while longer and I shared the Gospel with her and gave her the Bible and a Gospel tract and encouraged her to read them, repent and trust the Savior.

I love it when preaching the Gospel leads to Gospel conversations.

 

Until All Hear!

Alex.

 

Leave a Reply

